Telestra App Note

Managing a Single Project across multiple Target Platforms (#90)

Requirements

  • Telestra Target software version 4.16 or later
  • Two or more Target Platforms
  • User is familiar with Telestra RMS and ACE Studio

Background

This application note describes Project Management for a multi-Target installation when it is desired to use the same project for all Targets. Prior to this feature a user would have to manage each project separately; however, now a user can configure one Target to act as the master. Subsequent Targets are configured as Slaves for the purposes of Project Management, which in turn creates a link from all Slave Targets to the Master Target. When one Target is updated all other Targets are updated on the next install or reboot (if the project is set as the default project).

Initial System Setup

Designate a Target in your facility to act as the Master Target. The hardware or software are not different from any other Target; however, it should always remain on and running if ANY of the slaves need to be on and running.

  1. Open up RMS on the Master Target and verify that the project is not currently linked. If there is a link delete it. No other configuration on the Master Target is necessary.
    1. In RMS, select "Project Management".
    2. Under Project Management, select "Show Projects".
    3. Verify that the project is not linked to another Target. (i.e. Make sure the column "Link to Master Target" is blank next to your project.)
    4. Click image to enlarge

  2. Open up RMS on Slave Target #1.
    1. Select "Project Management" from the main menu on the left.
    2. Select "Clone New Project".
    3. Select the project from Master Target in #1 above.
  3. Repeat step 2 for each Slave Target.

Note: Selecting "Copy New Project" will simply create an exact copy of the project without any links, and any changes made to the copied project will not be applied to the original project or vice-versa.

In the example below, Project 1 resides on the Master Target and there are 4 Slave Targets pointing to that project.

Note: Always backup the project from the Master Target to avoid backing up the master link that a Slave Target will contain.

When Are the Projects in Sync?

The Master Target will always contain the most recent version of the project. In fact if the Master Target is in a failed state or powered off you CANNOT open the project on a Slave Target or install it on a Slave Target via RMS. This is because the Master Target is checked prior to trying to make any project modifications or on an install.

A Slave Target will contain the latest version of the project after installing it. If editing the project on a Slave Target, the changes are then pushed to the Master Target when you save or install the project. Other Slave Targets will get the update on their next install.

To verify that the projects are in-sync you can see the changeset IDs in RMS. To see the details:

  • Select "Project Management"
  • Select "Show Projects"
  • The Changeset ID on all Targets will match as long as you have followed the above.

In the example below, changes are made to Project 1 Revision A on the Master Target's project. The project is updated to Project 1 Revision B. To update each Slave Target with Revision B open Studio save and install the Project's Layout. As an alternative, if the Project and Layout are selected as the Default for the Slave, rebooting the box will also cause the changeset to update. Note that Revision B simply refers to the fact that the mercurial1 changeset has been updated. You are not saving as a new project.


Notes
  • A software upgrade does not break the links from the slave to the master; however, if a cold start is required you must recreate the master/slave project relationship (using RMS to Backup/Restore the Project will also retain the master and slave link even after cold start).
  • If the Master Target fails i.e. it is powered off or there are network issues, the Slave Targets cannot load or install the project. This prevents the projects from becoming out-of-sync. If a Slave Target fails it does not affect the remaining Targets.
  • If at any time you want to disable the link from the slave to the master, break the link in the RMS Project Management page under the "Link to Master Target" column. This will disable the multi-Target Project Management feature.

    Click image to enlarge

  • The "Save As" feature in Studio will create a new project and all links will be lost on the new project. In other words, it does not perform as "Save As" on all associated Targets.

1 In RMS Project Management > Show Targets, select the Project name to view the mercurial change set.